A Fun Reading List

Winter is here, which means it’s getting colder (at least cold enough for a hoodie here in LA). As far as I’m concerned, all weather is good weather for reading, but there’s something magical about curling up with a blanket, some coffee and a good book when it’s cold. As I look at the overcast skies outside while I write this post instead of reviewing the 2015 labor law updates as I had planned, I can’t help but think that today is a day for reading. And perhaps that is what I’ll do as soon as I finish this post…and reviewing those labor law updates.

A good friend recently gave me the challenge of making him a list of books I think he should read. He did not give me too many guidelines, so I made some to help me craft this list of 50 books. I limited myself to one book per author with two exceptions. You will see one book by Stephen King and Richard Bachman. Even though King was long ago discovered to be the voice behind Bachman, I like the idea of counting them as two people. The other exception is Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy. I counted this as one book because the story arc is such that the three books read like one. I had to remove Jane Eyre and 1984 because my friend had already read those.

When I was getting to the end of my list, I had five spots left. I went to Facebook to ask my friends for suggestions. I got a lot of really good recommendations, and I added quite a few to my own list of books to read. I was pleased that some of the recommendations that were already on my list. It just goes to show my friends have awesome taste in books, and I am happy to have so many readers in my circle of friends. If you recommended a book and don’t see it here, it’s because my friend had either read the book already, I ran out of space on my list or it was not the best fit for this particular reader.

Without further ado, here’s my list of books:

  • The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie
  • Bless me, Ultima by Rudolfo Anaya
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • The Long Walk by Richard Bachman
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  • Kindred by Octavia Butler
  • In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  • The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Congo by Michael Crichton
  • Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  • Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
  • Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez
  • The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano
  • The Motorcycle Diaries by Ernesto Che Guevera
  • Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein
  • Their Eyes were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  • The World According to Garp by John Irving
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • The Liar’s Club by Mary Karr
  • Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman
  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
  • 11/22/63 by Stephen King
  • The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  • The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
  • California by Edan Lepucki
  • The Sea-Wolf by Jack London
  • I Am Legend by Richard Matheson
  • Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore
  • The Eight by Katherine Neville
  • Gone to Soldiers by Marge Piercy
  • His Dark Materials (trilogy) by Philip Pullman
  • The Gaze by Elif Șafak
  • The Five Red Herrings by Dorothy Sayers
  • Naked by David Sedaris
  • Zero: The Biography of a Dangerous Idea by Charles Seife
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  • Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut
  • The Color Purple by Alice Walker
  • Affinity by Sarah Waters
  • The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
  • This Boy’s Life by Tobias Wolff

Feel free to leave recommendations in the comments. I always love seeing what people recommend. My list of books to read is huge, but I don’t mind adding to it. Now I need to finish my HR consulting work, so I can get to my reading.

One thought on “A Fun Reading List

  1. Pingback: Fiction and the Apocalypse | Book & Me

Leave a Reply

