Reading in the New Year

Typewriter new

It has been awhile since I last wrote a post for this blog. Participating in (and winning!) my first NaNoWriMo in November used up most of my words, and, aside from a few HR articles and employee handbooks, I have been slow to get back to my writing. I suppose it is a time of year that I should be thinking about resolutions and getting to work on revising my NaNoWriMo novel, but really I am just thinking about books.

I am starting off the year with a reread of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy. Many people think J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series is my favorite. While I do love Rowling’s books, Pullman’s trilogy has always resonated more with me. I have read and listened to the audio versions of his story of Lyra, Will and parallel universes a number of times, and it just gets better each time. With so many unread books, it is a bit weird to think about rereads, but going back to a favorite book is like a visit with an old friend.

A friend recently got Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. It is a book that I have been curious about for a while, and I look forward to diving into it later this year. I would also like to read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams—it is one of those series I really feel like I should have already read.

I always enjoy setting a goal for myself in the Goodreads reading challenge and set my goal at 30 books for this year. Book Riot has a “Read Harder Challenge” that pushes readers to read books in 24 different categories. What I like about this list is that it pushes readers to move beyond their normal fare and sets them up for a diverse reading list for 2016. I am not sure if I will complete all the categories, but it seems like a nice way to find inspiration for my next read.

May 2016 be filled with lots of books. Happy New Year!

One thought on “Reading in the New Year

  1. Pingback: Why I Ditched my Gym Membership for a Pair of Hiking Boots | Book & Me

Leave a Reply

